Go Back   Frame Rate Issues > PC Gaming and Tech > PC Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21-03-09, 11:25 PM   #1
Cefca
 
Cefca's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Keeping track of broadband usage?

Keep getting emails nearly every month from BT saying I'm nearing my monthly GB usage limit (went over it one month). It's 15GB a month and I don't even download that much (I know downloading isn't the only thing the adds to your usage but it's the main thing).

Is there a way to keep track of my usage to see where it's all going?

Cheers.
Cefca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-09, 11:36 PM   #2
Boner
THC: 17.14%
 
Boner's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: This is England
Posts: 2,556
Thanks: 35
Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Default

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=internet+usage+meter
__________________
Boner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-09, 11:45 PM   #3
dillingerdan
SEGAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!
 
dillingerdan's Avatar
 
Americas Army Champion!
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Worcester
Posts: 2,258
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to dillingerdan
Default

Not if you're not the only computer/whatever on the network, I am not sure if I know of any firmware that logs specifics like that. Might try DD-WRT or Tomato FW see if they offer it. But otherwise most programs that allow you to downlaod keep a running total of some sort. Newsleecher does for me in the status bar area (currently 1,218.8GB). Azureus I am sure does too (does it to show you your upload to downlaod ratio), and other BT clients do to for the same reason.

Could just keep a little text file and add the size of each file you download to it to keep a total yourself. Although I am sure there are programs you can get too, but beyond doing a google search for you, I couldn't recommend anything.

Ooh just remembered I have a Multimeter on my sidebar which keeps track of a few of my settings.

http://thehobbylounge.com/forum/index.php?topic=5267.0

I have the profile to the left in the pic, except modified a little, and under the lan it shows your total downloaded (on the right of the 2, other is uploaded I believe). If you aren't on Vista I believe they work with some XP ones too, but I cannot be certain.
__________________
IDs: Steam: dillingerdan PSN - DillingerDan XBL/GFWL - DillingerDan X-Fire - dillingerdan
Server: Intel Core i5-4670k | ASUS Z87-DELUXE/QUAD | 16GB Corsair Vengence LP | 16.25TB Storage | BlackGold BGT3650 ಠ_ಠ
Gaming: Intel Core i5-3570k | ASUS P8Z77-I DELUXE | 16GB Corsair Vengence LP | ASUS GTX680 DCII OC | ಠ_ಠ
dillingerdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-09, 11:49 PM   #4
Cefca
 
Cefca's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I'll try that, cheers Dan.
Cefca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-09, 12:09 AM   #5
Tomo
Manuscript Replica
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 751
Thanks: 6
Thanked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Tomo Send a message via Skype™ to Tomo
Default

I think Rainmeter has an addon for something like that but I may be wrong.
__________________
Signature
Tomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Design by HTWoRKS